WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

CAD software??

bonesfab

Reaction score
So I have some experience with 2-d cad from my plasma cam table. Now I want to step it up and get into the 3-d part of it. I am looking at 3d scanners and will probably step up and buy a printer too for making small parts around the shop.. What's the consensus among those in the know. I know Solid works and mastercam but don't quite have that budget for this. Fusion 360 or I heard of Plasticity as decent. Input please.

evantwheeler

Reaction score
So I have some experience with 2-d cad from my plasma cam table. Now I want to step it up and get into the 3-d part of it. I am looking at 3d scanners and will probably step up and buy a printer too for making small parts around the shop.. What's the consensus among those in the know. I know Solid works and mastercam but don't quite have that budget for this. Fusion 360 or I heard of Plasticity as decent. Input please.
I can appreciate the convenience of doing what you are after in house, but the learning curve is steep. I think I would take a first step of finding someone who you can subcontract that work to - scanning, modeling, printing - in your local area, and see how much you utilize the service?

Here is a 3D cad option. $1000 for 1 seat.