WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

Bob Vandergriff Retiring. Shuts Down Top Fuel Operation Immediately

RitcheyRch

Currently Boat-Less
Reaction score
http://www.competitionplus.com/drag...nounces-immediate-retirement-from-drag-racing

Bob Vandergriff, team owner of Bob Vandergriff Racing (BVR), an organization that has been fielding two Top Fuel Dragsters on the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing tour, has announced his retirement from the sport following the NHRA Denso Nationals in Las Vegas.

The Top Fuel cars had been driven by Dave Connolly and Leah Pritchett. Effective immediately, the entire BVR organization has been shut down and all employees have been released from their duties.

Vandergriff issued the following statement:

?I've been considering retirement for a few years now, and I?ve actually done it once already when I retired from the driver?s seat at the end of the 2014 season. Now it?s time to retire from the sport altogether. The recent unexpected death of BVR supporter and close friend Josh Comstock, from C&J Energy Services, has made me reflect and seriously reevaluate my priorities in life.

"I?ve missed a lot of things in my children?s lives over the years and the desire to spend more time at home with my family has weighed on me greatly the last few years and when combined with the struggles the oil and gas industry has been facing over the last 12-18 months it seemed like now was the right time to retire. C&J Energy Services CEO Randy McMullen and I sat down recently, and after lengthy discussions he was in agreement and fully supported my decision.