WELCOME TO RIVER DAVES PLACE

GRASSROOTS ROCKS!

Mondorally

Reaction score
Wow, what a weekend. :thumbsup

Let me start by saying thanks to............. EVERYONE! There wasn't a person at the races that wasn't helpful or excited to see us complete newbies out there running. Tons of support from every corner made the weekend that much better.

Specifically I want to thank Jim Lancon (Driver) and Colleen Boerman (Observer)for all they did. Jim was gracious enough to offer to pull me in his 20' Schiada (Boat 510) and Colleen stepped up and rode shotgun at the last minute. Their knowledge was irreplaceable and their excitement was contagious. It made for a great weekend. And thanks to Dennis for letting me borrow his rope and ski for the weekend.

The races themselves were awesome. I blew the start Saturday by taking too much time getting wrapped once in the water. We cruised a solid race and finished happy and exhausted. Sunday's race was awesome. Despite the pain in my legs and water that was worse than Saturday we were pushing harder. I was having a blast but quickly gassing out.... eventually falling at the finish line as we tried to catch the leaders. My legs simply couldn't keep up and simply gave out with a huge splash. There should be some great pics and hopefully some video.

Anyone thinking of getting out there should do it. Its both easier and harder than you can imagine. Just get out and you'll see.... and you'll be hooked like I am!

-Justin Hill

Attachments

• Boat 510.jpg
    Boat 510.jpg
    86.6 KB · Views: 753

SGettmann

Reaction score
Justin- Awesome job this weekend. Great meeting you and yes...The GRASS roots events were Fantastic. Special thanks to the International Body (Carl Johnson) and Region 2 (Niki Yeder) for hosting and adding the even to the marathon weekend. Hope to see you at more races in the future.